Space for creation,
expression and collaboration

Contemporary works
commissioned for our ensemble

Social issues addressed
within the musical context

The contemporary music ensemble TRIO vis-à-vis (flute, violoncello, and voice) is dedicated to experimenting and researching the unknown of contemporary music. The trio enthusiastically embarks on a journey of new sounds, formats, and collaborations with artists from other artistic disciplines, which lead to exciting, highly topical, and unique music projects. The trio serves as a platform for creativity, originality, creation, and artistic expression both as solo musicians and as an ensemble.

About us →

vis-à-vis

TRIO

Our next event

October 28, 29 & 30

VIRUCIDE

An interactive, interdisciplinary and intermedial music theater with artists from Stuttgart, which will take place in the underground bunker at Diakonissenplatz Stuttgart. The piece is inspired by the COVID-19 pandemic and deals with the specific phases of the course of the disease, in which the rooms of the bunker represent individual organs. The main character SARS-CoV-2 is interpreted by a puppeteer, VIRUCIDE (the antidote) by the TRIO vis-à-vis. At the same time, the music theater reflects on the social, psychological, political and economic effects of the pandemic and raises questions about globalization.

Upcoming events →

#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria

The story of Maria Kalesnikava

Maria Kalesnikava was born in Minsk, Belarus. She learned to play flute in her hometown and later came to Germany to study early and contemporary music at the “Musikhochschule Stuttgart”, where we met in 2012. Our friendship and her enthusiasm and passion for contemporary music grew in such a way that she became the flutist of the TRIO vis-à-vis in 2016 to 2020. Together we created and realised interesting music projects and played concerts in Germany and abroad in which the fun and joy of playing music was always present.

Thanks to her strength, talent and enthusiasm, she had an urge to improve and realise her dreams in the artistic field, as well as being governed by a strong sense of responsability, justice and freedom, which led her, not coincidentally, to be part of the campaign of the presidential elections in Belarus in August 2020 together with the oposition leader Svetlana Tijanóvskaya and Veronika Tsepkalo. Since September 9, 2020 our friend and colleague has been imprisoned and sentenced to 11 years.

Read the whole story ↗

Change.org campaign →

freemascha.org →

×

MARIA KALESNIKAVA was born in Minsk/ Belarus. After completing her soloist studies as a flautist in Minsk, she continued to study Early Music and Contemporary Music at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart, completing both courses in 2012. She has participated with various ensembles in many German and international festivals such as ECLAT, Donaueschingen MusikTage, TonArt Esslingen. From 2016 to 2020 Maria Kalesnikava was the solo flutist of the TRIO vis-à-vis. In 2018, Maria became a co-founder of the cultural association InterAKT Initiative e. V. (Stuttgart, Germany). She was also on the board of the Stuttgarter Kollektive für Aktuelle Musik e. V. (S-K-A-M e.V.), as well as the social media manager of Musik der Jahrhunderte and the festival ECLAT. In 2017, she took part in the creation of the Artemp art community that hosts contemporary art events. In the same year, she became the artistic director of the OK16 culture centre in Minsk.

In 2019 she returned to Minsk to lead a cultural project at the request of banker Viktor Babariko. She eventually became Babariko’s campaign manager after his arrest and took his place in the 2020 presidential electrion campaign. Before the presidential election, together with Svetlana Tijanovskaya and Veronika Tsepkalo, she formed a trio of women against the governing Aleksandr Lukashenko, which quickly achieved surprising success. On September 7, 2020, Maria Kalesnikava was kidnapped by unknown persons in the center of Minsk. On September 9, 2020 Maria was arrested and has been sentenced to 11 years in prison. She is found guilty under three articles of the criminal code: calling for action against national security, conspiracy to seize state power by unconstitutional means and founding and leading an extremist group. Since her time in prison, Maria Kalesnikava received numerous awards in the field of civil society development and human rights protection, most recently the International Charlemagne Prize 2022 in Aachen together with Svetlana Tijanovskaya and Veronika Tsepkalo.

As friends and colleagues, we continue to support Maria by collaborating on benefit concerts for the Belarusian people, events in tribute to her. We do not forget her strength, talent, her love for music and the great friendship that unites us and we will continue to support the cause until justice is done.

Change.org campaign →

freemascha.org →

Raum für Kreation,
Ausdruck und Zusammenarbeit

Kompositionsaufträge neuer
Musik für unsere Besetzung

Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen
Themen im musikalischen Kontext

Das Neue Musik Ensemble TRIO vis-à-vis (Flöte, Violoncello und Stimme) widmet sich dem Experimentieren und der Forschung an Unbekanntem in der Neuen Musik. Mit Begeisterung begibt sich das Trio auf die Reise zu neuen Klängen, Formaten und zur Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen aus anderen Kunstsparten, die zu spannenden, hochaktuellen und besonderen Musikprojekten führen. Das Trio dient als Plattform für Kreativität, Originalität, der Gestaltung von Neuem und dem künstlerischen Ausdruck sowohl für Solomusiker*innen als auch als Ensemblemusiker*innen.

Über uns →

vis-à-vis

TRIO

Unsere nächste Veranstaltung

28., 29. & 30. Oktober

VIRUCIDE

VIRUCIDE ist ein interaktives, interdisziplinäres und intermediales Musiktheater mit Künstler*innen aus Stuttgart, das im Tiefbunker am Diakonissenplatz Stuttgart stattfinden wird. Das Stück ist von der COVID-19-Pandemie inspiriert und behandelt die konkreten Phasen des Krankheitsverlaufs, wobei die Räume des Bunkers einzelne Organe abbilden. Die Hauptfigur SARS-CoV-2 wird von einem Puppenspieler interpretiert, VIRUCIDE (das Gegenmittel) vom TRIO vis-à-vis. Gleichzeitig reflektiert das Musiktheater die gesellschaftlichen, psychologischen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Pandemie und wirft Fragen zur Globalisierung auf.

Kommende Veranstaltungen →

#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria#FreeMaria

Die Geschichte von Maria Kalesnikava

Maria Kalesnikava wurde in Minsk/Weißrussland geboren. Sie studierte in ihrer Heimatstadt Querflöte und ging später nach Deutschland, um Alte Musik und Neue Musik an der Musikhochschule Stuttgart zu studieren, wo wir uns 2012 kennenlernten. Unsere Freundschaft und ihre Begeisterung und Leidenschaft für zeitgenössische Musik wuchsen und führten dazu, dass sie von 2016 bis 2020 die Soloflötist des TRIO vis-à-vis war. Wir haben gemeinsam sehr interessante Projekte ins Leben gerufen und realisiert und Konzerte im In- und Ausland gespielt, bei denen der Spaß und die Freude am Musizieren immer präsent waren.

Ihre Stärke, ihr Talent und ihrer Enthusiasmus trieb sie an, sich stetig zu verbessern und ihre Träume im künstlerischen Bereich zu verwirklichen. Geleitet durch ihren starken Sinn für Verantwortung, Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit fing sie an, sich intensiv zusammen mit den Oppositionsführerinnen Swetlana Tichanowskaja und Veronika Zepkalo für den Wahlkampf für die Präsidentschaftswahlen in Belarus im August 2020 einzusetzen. Seit dem 9. September 2020 ist unsere Freundin und Musikkollegin inhaftiert und zu 11 Jahren Haft verurteilt.

Die ganze Geschichte lesen ↗

Change.org-Kampagne →

freemascha.org →

×

MARIA KALESNIKAVA wurde in Minsk/ Belarus geboren. Nach ihrem Abschluss als Flötistin (Solistenklasse) in Minsk hat sie die Masterstudiengänge Alte und Neue Musik an der Musikhochschule Stuttgart studiert und schloss beide 2012 ab. Mit diversen Ensembles hat sie an vielen deutschen und internationalen Festivals teilgenommen wie ECLAT, Donaueschingen Musik Tage, TonArt Esslingen. Von 2016 bis 2020 war Maria Kalesnikava Soloflötistin des TRIO vis-à-vis. 2018 wurde Maria Mitbegründerin des Kulturvereins InterAKT Initiative e. V. (Stuttgart, Deutschland). Außerdem war sie im Vorstand des Stuttgarter Kollektivs für aktuelle Musik e. V. (S-K-A-M e.V.), sowie Social Media Manager von Musik der Jahrhunderte und dem Festival ECLAT. 2017 beteiligte sie sich an der Gründung der Kunstgemeinschaft Artemp, die Veranstaltungen für zeitgenössische Kunst veranstaltet. Im selben Jahr wurde sie künstlerische Leiterin des Kulturzentrums OK16 in Minsk.

2019 kehrte sie nach Minsk zurück, um auf Wunsch des Bankiers Viktor Babariko ein Kulturprojekt zu leiten. Sie wurde nach seiner Verhaftung schließlich Babarikos Wahlkampfmanagerin und nahm seinen Platz im Präsidentschaftswahlkampf 2020 ein. Vor der Präsidentschaftswahl bildete sie zusammen mit Swetlana Tichanowskaja und Veronika Zepkalo ein Frauentrio gegen den regierenden Aleksandr Lukaschenko, das schnell überraschende Erfolge für die Regierung erzielte. Am 7. September 2020 wurde Maria Kalesnikava im Zentrum von Minsk von Unbekannten entführt. Am 9. September 2020 wurde Maria festgenommen und zu 11 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt. Sie wurde wegen folgender Vergehen nach drei Artikeln des Strafgesetzbuches für schuldig befunden: Aufruf zu Handlungen gegen die nationale Sicherheit, Verschwörung zur Ergreifung der Staatsgewalt mit verfassungswidrigen Mitteln und Gründung und Führung einer extremistischen Gruppe. Seit ihrer Zeit im Gefängnis erhielt Maria Kalesnikova zahlreiche Auszeichnungen im Bereich der Entwicklung der Zivilgesellschaft und des Schutzes der Menschenrechte, zuletzt zusammen mit Swetlana Tichanowskaja und Veronika Zepkalo den Internationalen Karlpreis 2022 zu Aachen.

Als Freunde und Kollegen unterstützen wir Maria weiterhin, indem wir bei Benefizkonzerten für das belarussische Volk und Veranstaltungen zu Ehren von ihr gestalten und durchführen. Wir vergessen ihre Stärke, ihr Talent, ihre Liebe zur Musik und die große Freundschaft, die uns verbindet nicht, und wir werden die Sache weiter unterstützen, bis Gerechtigkeit geschehen ist.

Change.org-Kampagne →

freemascha.org →